//
you're reading...
Plant-Based Eating

Fake-a-dillas? Vegadillas?

Vegan-dillas? Whatever you call them… they were fantastic!

Michael was craving some qdoba on the way home from work.  He cited several good arguments: he had to study for his exam, and it’s on the drive home, and so quick, and so delicious… but we had mandated no more out-to-eat trips this week (for budgetary purposes!) Usually, I’m pretty weak-willed with him.  It doesn’t take much to sway me from cooking another meal (especially since it means more dishes to wash!)

Qdoba has been a bit of of a crutch for us, since switching our diets.  It’s a pretty easy way to get beans and rice and some DELICIOUS guacamole (my favorite remember?) But we’ve almost burned ourselves out with the naked burrito, and before we do I said “No More Q!” Additionally, we are very adamantly trying to pay off debt, and so I put my foot down.

I quickly thought of a deal I could make him. I suggested we find a vegan quesadilla recipe that we could both enjoy.  The wheels started turning for my wannabe-chef husband. When we got home, we both set out finding recipes to make delicious versions of this staple dish that were plant-based.  I have to admit, I didn’t get any pictures of his (which included a crunchy layer?) But to be fair, he scarfed it down pretty quickly!

I am known, to Michael at least, for not researching my recipes very well.  In fact, I usually just google something and pick one of the top recipes regardless or rating and/or reviews.  Often, this means failure for dinner, but I got lucky this time.  I found this blog touting the BEST vegan quesadillas and I used it as a base to create this meal.

Image

Doesn’t this just make your mouth water?

I didn’t have any hummus on hand, but had the ingredients for homemade hummus.  I set out with some chick peas (rinsed and drained) some cumin, lemon juice, olive oil, green olives w/ pimentos, sea salt, and water.  I spread this hummus on a whole wheat tortilla and put it on the frying pan on med-high heat. On top of this, I added some canned black beans (rinsed and drained), canned organic roasted tomatoes (rinsed and drained), slices of avacado and sprinkled with sesame seed.  I spread hummus on the other tortilla and placed it on top.  I cooked that beautiful concoction until brown on both sides and added more avacado for a flurish at the end.

**To be fair, Michael had cooked me some tempeh which he had used and I added that to the fake-a-dillas, but found that they actually detracted from the fresh flavor of the tomato, hummus and avacado!

Once again, we were both shocked and awed by the power of plants to make a delicious, mouth-watering, satisfying, healthy meal! (I could only eat half of it before I was full!)

Try out your own Mexican-inspired plant-based creation!  Let me know what you choose and how you like it!  I’m always looking for new plant-based inspirations

P.S. You can blame my hungry stomach and low-blood sugar for the iphone photos for the last few posts… maybe I need to house my camera in the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think here:

