//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Green Lean Smoothie

Reading through this great post, by fellow plant-based eater HeroHealthRoom (at least that’s how I like to refer to him) I was reminded about the fantastic idea to begin each day with something green. For the same reason most people like to work out in the morning, eating your best green nutrients first thing will help to ensure you don’t forget or miss a chance to get them later.

How many times have I had great nutritional plans for my day, yet 10:00 pm rolls around and I’m thinking back through my meals and realizing I had NO leafy greens at all!

Unfortunately, when you’re on the go several days a week like me, running across town between clinics, commuting 1.5 hours to classes or church… it’s easy to find beans and rice, but leafy greens are tough to eat on the go.

Enter: the GREEN LEAN Smoothie

Last summer, I was all about smoothies.  Running a lot and training for a race, I found a nice cold smoothie filled with fruits and veggies was the PERFECT way to start my day.  Then fall and winter rolled around and I woke up craving nothing but the warmth of my bed.  Needless to say, a frozen smoothie didn’t excite me during our unbelievably cold winter! 

Though the temps are still sub-freezing outside, there is hope on the horizon. Spring is on the way.  Perhaps it’s simply the reminder of warmth and spring that has my inner-being feeling refreshed, but I’ve decided to get back into my smoothie(r) ways.

 

I’m a firm believer that there is no one right way to make a healthy smoothie.  Put whatever greens you’ve got in your cabinet, a few frozen fruits, maybe some silk non-dairy yogurt, or some vit D and Calcium added OJ… throw in some flaxseed or sesame seed, do WHATEVER.  But play with it.  Find the tastes that are right for you.  My husband and I would never agree on a smoothie flavor. He needs uber sweet, I need savory/bitter.  Remember that your greens will change your smoothie flavors a lot.  Kale is bitter, pair it with a sweeter fruit.  Spinach is relatively sweet, so for people like me, that means don’t put too much sweet fruit in it!

 

Here is today’s recipe.  I found it to be absolutely delicious, and the perfect balance. 

Lean Grean Spinach Smoothie

1 1/4 cup leafy spinach

3/4 cup broccoli heads 

1/2 cup silk dairy-free yogurt (vanilla)

1 small frozen banana (very ripe at time of freezing) cut into bites

about 1/2 -2/3 cup OJ (our nutritionist recommend the added calcium and vit D)

*Remember to wash and dry all produce

**OJ can be increased or decreased based on thickness preference

 

Enjoy and bring on the spring runs!

Discussion

One thought on “Green Lean Smoothie

  1. Thank you for the link! Glad you enjoyed it!

    Great smoothie, I make mine really similar too – I just add a few dates, and haven’t tried the yoghurt.

    Keep it up Lady Holland! 🙂

    Posted by Health Room | February 13, 2014, 9:24 am

Let me know what you think here:

