//
you're reading...
Maternal health

Letting it all pop out (the bump that is)

Today I look pregnant, welcome second trimester.  Yes, I did only hit 13 weeks today, but I can no longer pretend not to be looking more plump.

Am I mad?  Nope.  There have been plenty of times during my not-so-healthy-phases when I’ve looked forward to the moment when I could walk around following my belly proudly.  Today was that day.

Maybe it was partly because I was wearing an UBER-comfy maternity dress that allows room for a belly.  Either way, by lunchtime, I was filling some of it out.

 

I was uncomfortable with my slow increase in belly, until I really started to think about what’s inside of me.  Not just the peach-sized baby, but the house surrounding that peach-sized baby that at last check was measuring (by example) a small melon size…. are we serious?  How have I not already been showing?  MELON?  So I’m living it up.  Maybe people will think I’m a bit farther along than I am… who cares.  You only get to walk around flaunting your belly for so long.  I’ll take it as long as I can!

Discussion

One thought on “Letting it all pop out (the bump that is)

  1. I didn’t show until after 20 weeks and I had to fight with feeling dissatisfied about that… So funny how we can complain no matter what our lot is!

    I WANT TO SEE PICTURES!

    Posted by Carrie Peterson | July 10, 2014, 5:08 pm

Let me know what you think here:

